Bloomberg Terminals Experience Global Outage; Debt Sale Delayed – NBCNews.com

Bloomberg’s trading terminal experienced an outage on Friday morning, with some users saying they were unable to perform their usual trading activity.

The company confirmed to CNBC that its terminal was unavailable worldwide, with traders from the U.K. and Singapore complaining on Twitter that they had been affected by the issue. The interruption began around 8.20 a.m. London time.

Bloomberg said it was looking into the causes of the outage. By 9:10 a.m. London time (4.10 a.m. ET) the company said that some customers had reported the terminal was back online.

The U.K. Debt Management Office confirmed to CNBC that a treasury auction due at 10 a.m. London time on Friday (5 a.m. ET) was postponed due to the problems with the Bloomberg terminal. A trader at Amplify Trading in London said that the issue had also hit trading liquidity on Friday and accentuated the “risk-off” sentiment seen in several asset markets during the morning session.

Bloomberg terminals – also known as Bloomberg Professional – are vital to many traders’ day. As well monitoring and analyzing real-time financial data, traders can also execute trades using the terminal. Bloomberg has previously stated that it has more than 315,000 subscribers worldwide.

Michael Hewson, chief markets analysts at CMC Markets, told CNBC the issue “could well” affect trading volumes. “I’m finding it frustrating…but in terms of market information, there’s a lack of visibility,” he said.

- Matt Clinch

Disclosure: Bloomberg is a competitor of CNBC in reporting and distributing business news on the web and on television.

This story originally appeared on CNBC.com



Comments

Write a Reply or Comment:

Your email address will not be published.*